Leaving

It is now 1 am, and I should probably be asleep.

But instead, I’ve created this blog to chronicle Karen and my travels over the next three months.

There are many reasons that we’ve decided to go abroad, and sharpening our culinary skills and ideas is only one of them. I’ve always been somewhat of a homey type. But over the last couple years, the last year in particular, people, ideas, and ideals from abroad have really become something of an interest to me. And sometimes, you just have to see what’s out there for yourself. There’s always a life outside of that little bubble of a world you put yourself into, it’s up to you to get out of it every once in a while. So food and cooking is a great excuse to do that.

And close to ten years into my still-young career is a great time to do it.

Her? She just likes adventures. I should have known Chicago and Napa these past two years were just the tip of the iceberg.

We leave tomorrow for London, UK where we’ll take a train into Lille, France. There, we’ll be picked up for our first destination, In de Wulf (http://www.indewulf.be/en/kitchen/philosophy/), in Dranouter, Belgium. I’ve been told it is *literally* in the middle of nowhere.

It should be interesting, to say the least.

(as a footnote: if you haven’t noticed already, my writing really loves to include long run-on sentences, lots of commas, lots of hyphens, and a lot of tangents. My English teachers would kill me, but I hope you enjoy.)

About Justin

We cook, and bake at Oxheart Restaurant in Houston, TX. www.oxhearthouston.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leaving

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. please find time to write. im super jealous of you guys and super proud too! knock em dead chef(s) – hears to keeping your head down and your ears wide open….

  3. Diane says:

    I think this is great! I do hope there are some e-bars near y’all so that we can keep in touch some how. And your writing style is fine–very conversational. As long as you get your point across, you’re fine :).

Leave a Reply

